• Johann Sebastian Bach

5. Erholet euch, betrübte Sinnen

  • Tromba · D4 – D6
  • Oboe d’amore I + Oboe d’amore II + Violino / Violino solo / Flauto traverso / Flauto piccolo · G3 – D6
  • Violino II · A3 – C#6
  • Viola · E3 – E5
  • Tenore · D3 – A4
  • Continuo

German Text

Erholet euch, betrübte Sinnen,
Ihr tut euch selber allzu weh.
Laßt von dem traurigen Beginnen,
Eh ich in Tränen untergeh,
Mein Jesus läßt sich wieder sehen,
O Freude, der nichts gleichen kann!
Wie wohl ist mir dadurch geschehen,
Nimm, nimm mein Herz zum Opfer an!

English Translation

Take hold of yourselves, troubled minds,
you do yourselves too much injury.
Give up the sorrowful course;
before I collapse in tears,
my Jesus will be seen again,
O joy unlike any other!
What well-being has found me through this;
take, take my heart as an offering!


1731: version with Violino (solo) or Flauto traverso (solo), see Appendix (Neue Bach-Ausgabe I/11.2, p. 63)


Similar Instrumentation