• Johann Sebastian Bach

5. Mir ekelt mehr zu leben

  • Oboe d’amore + Violino · A3 – A5
  • Violino I · G3 – E5
  • Viola II · C#3 – C#5
  • Alto · C#4 – E5
  • Organo obbligato
  • Continuo: Organo

German Text

Mir ekelt mehr zu leben,
Drum nimm mich, Jesu, hin!

Mir graut vor allen Sünden,
Laß mich dies Wohnhaus finden,
Woselbst ich ruhig bin.

English Translation

It sickens me to live longer,
therefore take me away, Jesus!

I shudder before all sins,
let me find this dwelling-place
where I myself shall be at peace.


Organ part was played by flute in a later performance (c. 1746), according to Alfred Dürr. See Neue Bach-Ausgabe I/17.2 Appendix, p. 89


Similar Texts (Beta)